TOP TEN MOMENTS in Performing & Speaking in 2012

BEST & WORST of The Year

I’m still amazed by how blessed I am to have a performing & speaking career such as this.  What a joy, and thank you to those who continue to bring me in for a shot at making your audiences laugh, think, and even return year after year!

Image

JR Simplot Mine Tour in Vernal, UT – one of the “perks” of performing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10. Entire Show revamped, re-tracked by Danny Gans’ former show co-writer and best friend, the legendary Raphael Erardy

9. Qualtrics Show with Lokalgrown as backing band

8. Independent Insurance Agents events in New Mexico, Oregon, Idaho, Utah, Georgia

7. Max International Master of Ceremonies 

CLICK HERE for VIDEO SAMPLE

6. JHEWLETT EVENTS Showcase in Park City, UT with Entirely Eventful, Utah Olympic Park, featuring Artists Jeff Civillico, Shawn Rapier & Lokalgrown

5. LifeVantage return as Keynote Speaker (2nd year in a row) in Anaheim, CA

Image

LifeVantage Limitless Convention 4,000 people in Anaheim Stadium, CA

 

4. An incredible year full of over 25 booked gigs for excellent JHEWLETT EVENTS Artists

CLICK HERE TO VISIT WEB SITE

3. Denmark (European) and U.S. events for Synergy Worldwide

2. My continued transformation from solely an “Entertainer” to becoming a sought after “Keynote Speaker”, “Master of Ceremonies”, and referral source for satisfied clients with JHEWLETT EVENTS for major events nationwide

1. TIE: NSA-Mountain West Holiday Party (event for my Speaker Peers & Friends) and Shaklee International Convention (w/ Webb AV in front of est. 10,000 attendees at MGM Grand in Las Vegas, NV)

Image

Shared the Stage in Las Vegas at Shaklee with singing sensation Emmanuel Kelly, who sings “Imagine” like you’ve never heard it before. Little dude with a huge heart and amazing voice

 

Most Thoughtful Client – Greg Hawkins, County Auditor, making me a beautiful trophy declaring me “Entertainer of the Year”

Image

Greg Hawkins, Salt Lake County Auditor, Awards Jason Hewlett “Entertainer of the Year 2012”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Longest Tenured JHEWLETT EVENTS Clients – For the 5th Year straight, both Delta County Fair and JD Machine have used my referrals of JHE Artists, as well as my show, at their events.  Thank you for trusting me with your events! 

Favorite Speech – Toss up between my 4th year appearance at UBW (Utah Business Week) and Salt Lake Valley Health Department

Favorite School Speech – Silver Crest Elementary in Herriman, UT (this school changed my mind about my ability to speak to elementary school aged kids, and now I prefer this age, Silver Crest was so amazingly fun!) & South Elementary in Cedar City, UT

Repeat Performances for: Good Earth; UBW; LANDesk; Stephen Wade Auto; G&A Partners; CHG Healthcare; Corporate Alliance; Utah County Republican Women; Domino’s Pizza

Keynote Speeches for: G&A Partners; PACRAO; High School Athletic & Activities Associations in Wyoming, Kentucky, and Texas; Iron County Opening Institute for Educators; Utah Rural Schools Association; MASSP & UASSP Secretaries Conference; Utah & Pacific Region School Boards Association; Salt Lake Valley Health Department

PREVIEW SPEAKER WEB SITE HERE

Most Fulfilling Gigs: Tyler Smith Fund Raiser; Waterford School Assembly & Performance

Biggest Compliment from One Audience Member: Big Fork, MT Community Valentine’s Show – where I received a standing ovation from an older gentleman on the front row for my original song called “My Wife”

CLICK HERE to WATCH VIDEO

Biggest Challenge from an Event Planner: Booking me as the “After Dinner Show” and then breaking contract prior to the show and putting me in the schedule during dinner (this makes for a choking audience)

First Time Performances (just a few mentioned): Kyani; Visi; Namify; uGenius; AGCVA; Ridley’s; RWAU; Shaklee; UMGMA; Unishippers; Western Energy; JR Simplot; Hoyt; Bountiful Mazda; Sally Beauty; ConAir; American Lung Association

Image

Shawn Rapier performing his one man show with G&A Partners, one of many great JHEWLETT EVENTS shows booked in 2012 for my friends and clients

 

WORST Moments

1. Losing my bags so often on multiple trips (DELTA stands for: Don’t Expect Luggage To Arrive)

2. Missing gigs due to DELTA’s inability to get me there (DELTA stands for: Doesn’t Ever Leave The Airport) which finally resulted in my cancellation of frequent flyer status and joining on with Southwest, an airline I can depend on to get me to the gig #LoveSWA

(When I told the history of my flight experiences to a DELTA representative at the airport he said, “Well, you should probably stop flying DELTA in order to not jinx our airline anymore”.  OK, I will 🙂

Worst Moment of the Year – Missed connection in Detroit by 2 minutes at 9 PM, resulting in needing to drive all night (6 hours) in the dark, in the unfamiliar territory of Michigan, in order to get to my gig by 7 AM.  Delta then denied covering my missed flight, rental car one-way trip, and lost bag.  Wow.

As you can see, DELTA had a big impact on the Worst moments of my year, but luckily there were only traveling challenges as opposed to on stage worst moments during the year.  As Dan Fogelberg said, “The audience was heavenly, but the traveling was hell…”  I’m grateful this is all that really went wrong.

Image

Me & The Happy Clown Statue at Tivoli Gardens in Copenhagen, Denmark

 

All in all, 2012 was the best year of my career.  What a blessing to get to do something so odd, so fun, so silly for a living. 

My only regret of the year is how confused everyone seems by my mention of the word “retirement” from my resume.  I am still available for hire for Corporate and Private Events, and hope you’ll still consider me for your conventions, conferences, and parties.  But I am NO LONGER performing at venues where you can purchase a Ticket to come and see me in your area (such as local theaters where my name shines bright on the marquee).  No more Public Events with my name on it.  But who knows, maybe I’ll show up as a Surprise Guest at an event you’re attending.

My Goal continues to be the same: To move from solely a Performer and Entertainer into the Speaking world, which allows me to share a message of hope, inspiration & humor, while still adding in some of my favorite impressions and music to create an over-the-top speaking experience.  I hope you’ll take the time to consider me as a Speaker at your events as well, for those clients that have I am asked to return over and over again.

CLICK HERE for VIDEO of Speaking Sample

Special Thanks to:

Jared Hewlett – After 8 years of working, traveling, laughing, and hanging out together on a daily basis we decided to part ways in our work relationship for Jared to live his dreams.  No one has been a greater support, a bigger fan of mine, or bent over backwards more often than Jared.  He was truly the hardest working, most fun, and incredible partner to this point of my career.  The laughs we shared following gigs on the drives and flights home are missed, and he continues to be the one I have to test material on to make sure if it’s performance ready.  I love my little brother Jared and wish him well in his goals and pursuit of happiness.  Thanks man. 

Image

I Am The Brother of Jared and we both do stupid faces when climbing mountains…Love YOU Bro

 

~ jason

 

 

Leave a comment